April 16, 2021 — 7:30 PM to
April 19, 2021 — 7:30 PM
Online On-Demand Concert

Director’s Notes

Our final program in the series features the Nonet by mid-nineteenth French composer, Louise Farrenc. A prolific composer of several symphonies and larger works, her music is becoming increasingly popular.

We open with Vivaldi’s Concerto for Four Violins with a pared-down string accompaniment and following, Stravinsky’s Septet from 1953. An unusual combination of winds and strings with piano.

This was a work originally programmed on our Masterworks season. We conclude with the famous Piano Quintet in A major by Schubert, more familiarly known as “the Trout.”

- Andrew Sewell

WCO’s 2020-21 Season / Digital Subscription

While full orchestras remain sidelined, the WCO is excited to present the Winter Chamber Series in winter of 2021. This new series will feature chamber works for multiple ensembles ranging from trios to octets, showcasing the versatility and caliber of the WCO’s 34 world-class musicians.

Patrons will enjoy the four-concert series in the comfort of their own home, streaming each concert on WCO Live on-demand starting at 7:30 p.m. on the evening of the concert launch. All programs will be 60 – 75 minutes in length, with not only music but also stories from the WCO’s own musicians on their journey to becoming professional musicians. Also included is a pre-concert talk with Maestro Andrew Sewell and Norman Gilliland, as well as a post-concert reflection with musicians of the WCO.


VIVALDI | Concerto for Four Violins in B minor RV 580

STRAVINSKY | Septet (1953)

LOUISE FARRENC | Nonet in E flat Op.38

  1. Adagio – Allegro & III. Scherzo, Vivace

SCHUBERT | Piano Quintet in A major. D. 667 ‘Trout’ I & IV Mvts