March 26, 2021 — 7:30 PM to
March 29, 2021 — 7:30 PM
Online On-Demand Concert

Director’s Notes

Two women composers are featured on this program.

Oboist and composer, Alyssa Morris’ Motion (2010) for wind quartet focuses on four different “motions. The movements include: Bike Ride, Stretch, Tip Toe, and Strut.

Jessie Montgomery’s Strum (2015) for string quartet is an energetic and vibrant work. Starting in 1999, Montgomery became involved with the Sphinx Organization, a Detroit-based nonprofit that supports young African American and Latinx string players. She now serves as composer-in-residence for the Sphinx Virtuosi, the organization's professional touring ensemble.

Brahms’ grand Horn Trio and Beethoven’s Quintet for Piano and Winds op.16 round out the program

- Andrew Sewell

WCO’s 2020-21 Season / Digital Subscription

While full orchestras remain sidelined, the WCO is excited to present the Winter Chamber Series in winter of 2021. This new series will feature chamber works for multiple ensembles ranging from trios to octets, showcasing the versatility and caliber of the WCO’s 34 world-class musicians.

Patrons will enjoy the four-concert series in the comfort of their own home, streaming each concert on WCO Live on-demand starting at 7:30 p.m. on the evening of the concert launch.

All programs will be 60 – 75 minutes in length, with not only music but also stories from the WCO’s own musicians on their journey to becoming professional musicians. Also included is a pre-concert talk with Maestro Andrew Sewell and Norman Gilliland, as well as a post-concert reflection with musicians of the WCO.



BEETHOVEN | Quintet for Piano & Winds in E flat

1. Grave – Allegro non troppo & III. Rondo

ALYSSA MORRIS | Motion for Wind Quartet

BRAHMS | Horn Trio in E flat, op 40


2. Scherzo: Allegro

RUN TIME: 60 – 75 min