February 26, 2021 — 7:30 PM to
March 1, 2021 — 7:30 PM
Online On-Demand Concert

Director’s Notes

After a full opening in January, this program is weighted towards the strings and percussion.

We open with a duet by American composer, Thomas Siwe for timpani and snare drum, and “clapping music” from 1972 by American minimalist, Steve Reich.

Additionally, American composer, Craig Russell is featured in his Rejuvenations for Piano Sextet (2020), a COVID era adaptation of a 2013 work written for full orchestra. His style is heavily influenced by the early Baroque Spanish music prevalent on what is now the California Coast during the late 1700s.

Continuing this early classical theme, is Mozart’s homage to Haydn – his String Quartet No. 17 known as “the Hunt”, Rossini’s early string sonata No. 5 in E flat for two violins, cello and bass, written when he was just 12, and Beethoven’s first string quartet Op.18 No.1.

- Andrew Sewell

WCO’s 2020-21 Season / Digital Subscription

While full orchestras remain sidelined, the WCO is excited to present the Winter Chamber Series in winter of 2021. This new series will feature chamber works for multiple ensembles ranging from trios to octets, showcasing the versatility and caliber of the WCO’s 34 world-class musicians.

Patrons will enjoy the four-concert series in the comfort of their own home, streaming each concert on WCO Live on-demand starting at 7:30 p.m. on the evening of the concert launch.

All programs will be 60 – 75 minutes in length, with not only music but also stories from the WCO’s own musicians on their journey to becoming professional musicians. Also included is a pre-concert talk with Maestro Andrew Sewell and Norman Gilliland, as well as a post-concert reflection with musicians of the WCO.


THOMAS SIWE | Duet for Snare Drum & Timpani

STEVE REICH | Clapping Music

BEETHOVEN | String Quartet Op.18 No.1

CRAIG RUSSELL | Rejuvenations for Piano Sextet

ROSSINI | String Sonata No. 5 in E flat

MOZART | String Quartet No. 17 “The Hunt”

RUN TIME: 60 – 75 min