January 22, 2021 — 7:30 PM
WCO Live

Director's Notes

The music of Valerie Coleman and Alec Wilder are two new names that some listeners may not be familiar with, along with Giovanni Gabrieli and Franz Schubert, as we kick off our Winter Chamber Series.

Valerie Coleman is a performing artist and composer with the Imani Winds and has written many works for the wind quintet genre.

American composer Alec Wilder’s Octets were written in the early 1940s while commuting from Philadelphia to New York City. These jazz-inspired works have fanciful titles and are a unique ensemble of harpsichord, drumset, three clarinets, flute, oboe, and bassoon.

Schubert’s String Quintet is on a grand scale: the first movement serving as a stand-alone piece. Finally, Giovanni Gabrieli’s Canzonas are plentiful in the brass repertoire and provide a fitting fanfare opening to the season. - Andrew Sewell

WCO’s 2020-21 Season / Digital Subscription

While full orchestras remain sidelined, the WCO is excited to present the Winter Chamber Series in winter of 2021. This new series will feature chamber works for multiple ensembles ranging from trios to octets, showcasing the versatility and caliber of the WCO’s 34 world-class musicians.

Patrons will enjoy the four-concert series in the comfort of their own home, streaming each concert on WCO Live on-demand starting at 7:30 p.m. on the evening of the concert launch. All programs will be 60 – 75 minutes in length, with not only music but also stories from the WCO’s own musicians on their journey to becoming professional musicians. Also included is a pre-concert talk with Maestro Andrew Sewell and Norman Gilliland, as well as a post-concert reflection with musicians of the WCO.

Coucherto Series

Coucherto Series

Come into the homes of our musicians as they perform for you in our Coucherto Series during the safer-at-home season.

Watch #couchertos
Support the WCO

Support the WCO

Your support of the Wisconsin Chamber Orchestra has made life-affirming performances accessible to thousands.

Ways to support the WCO



VALERIE COLEMAN | Tzigane for Wind Quintet

FRANZ SCHUBERT | String Quintet in C major D956 (mvt I)

ALEC WILDER | Four Octets

RUN TIME: 60 – 75 min