Our opening program features three works for violin, Henri Vieuxtemps’Violin Concerto No. 5 – a delightfully classical work - followed by Saint-Saëns’ tour de force, his Introduction and Rondo capriccioso, and the rarely heard, Concerto for Violin and Viola by Benjamin Britten. Rachel Barton Pine delighted us in the early 2000s, and has a commanding stage presence. Mozart’s Marriage of Figaro Overture and Haydn’s Symphony No. 96, ‘the Miracle’ bookend this tour de force program.


MOZART | Marriage of Figaro Overture

VIEUXTEMPS | Violin Concerto No.5 in A minor

SAINT-SAËNS | Introduction and Rondo capriccioso

BRITTEN | Concerto for Violin and Viola

HAYDN | Symphony No. 96 in D major ‘The Miracle’